Traditional comic – how i do it

November 21, 2010

There is a long time, since nooby me published first comic. The first reaction when i saw it printed was ‘wtf?!’ because it looked lame 😄

That’s all because i scanned it in grayscale and use random screentones (i mean i thought that was screentons lol 😄 ).  I didn’t have any idea what b&w is and all things I should know. But nowadays, even i still make mistakes, my comics looks way better in print. I decided to share the basics, which are helpful to draw comic (i hope 😄 )

So first, the paper. For ‘Meago Saga’ vol. 1 and 2 i used normal paper for printers (A4 size). But now, thanks to Goku, i have a possibility to use something better (but still it is able to make a comic with normal paper 😄 ).

I’m writing about special comic paper (‘Deleter’ in this case):

It’s more thick than normal paper, and the amount of sheets is limited. In normal pack of printing paper there are about 500sheets, and here is 40 :C plus it’s way more expensive than normal paper, but i think i started to like it, so i’m thinking to buy more in the (but not near) future. It has some advantages:

It haz rullers and margins, and it helps to make straight frames, and not only. Generally it is helpful. Also the lines are in CYAN so it means, that these lines are not visible in black&white scanning.

Next thing is that it has more smooth texture than normal paper. You can see the difference between normal paper (left) and Deleter paper (right). It is more comfortable while drawing C:

 

Now, enough about the paper. Lets talk about tools. I prefer Ink and nib, cause it gives specific type of lines. But that doesn’t mean that i don’t use pens. I’m using them a lot ❤ but I have special requirements. They must be Ink pens, waterproof, non-blending. Another advantage of these kind of liners is the various size of tip/thickness. They are perfect for crosshatching, shading with lines, and for backgrounds C:

Recently i bought pretty nice ones ‘Millenium’ Liners

I have also sakura micron liners, they’re good too. (picture somewhere from the internet)

Uni-pins liners are fine too (even if they are not my favourite). Again picture from the internet

As i wrote earlier, I’m used to ink and nibs. I like them so much because i can make specific lines. Also, the ink black is deep and it’s not fading while erasing the pencil. Drawing by nibs needs a little practise, and it can be very annoying sometimes 😄 I have few, because i’m too lazy to change the nibs all the time.

My favourite is the little cheap one, Leonardt nib (red one on the left). On the picture below, you can see how the lines looks.

I am sorry, but i don’t have my desk for traditional drawing, and i don’t have much space to draw, i can’t rest my elbows anywhere, and generally there’s not very confortable here now,  so the lines looks very rough and poor :C

 

 

Now i will show all scanning process.

First i have a picture (lol, not so pretty, sorry 😄 )

Next i’m erasing the pencil and put the picture  in my scanner, and set the options to black&white and 600dpi (or 1200 if u want). As you see the cyan rullers and margins are totally invisible.

The lines are totally black, and there is no need (and possibility XD)  to adjust the scan.

On the picture below, you can see how it looks when it is set on grayscale mode. Also, the lines are visible.

 

And now, there is how the picture looks scanned in black&white mode on 600dpi, 100% zoom. It is a bitmap. Doesn’t looks beautiful 😄

 

But just now, i’m changing it into grayscale mode, and I’m changing the dpi from 600 t0 300 (600 may stay, but i like work on 300 😄 )

 

And now how the picture looks. Much better:

It’s still not enough resized. I’m generally scaning the A4-B4 size pages and later, after changing into grayscale and 300dpi, I’m cropping the picture for the print size ( I’m printing in A5)

I will show the real example.

This is random (unimportant)  page/s, made in traditional. I used Ink pens here, cause  i forgot to buy new nibs and ink, and i was too lazy to do it, also i didn’t (and still don’t) have a space for drawing by ink and nibs :C

 

And now some examples of scanned parts of pages in B&W and after all actions I wrote above. The black is BLACK, there are no any black marker’s smudges, etc. Also 100% zoom (print image size)

 

And here some comparision between 100% zoom, and zoomed out images:

 

What about screentones?

 

Well i luckily had a possibity to get a photoshop plugin called “Powertone”. It’s really good tool, and very easy to use. All screentons are in bitmap, and there is a possibility to set them how i like. Also there is a big library of various screentones available (from classic dots, gradients and noises, to fruit patterns, sparkles, flowers, clouds, lines etc).

But before i’ve get powertone, I used exported (to bitmap and 300dpi) screentones from “manga studio” software. Many screentones were the same like in the powertone, and even some of them are not in powertone, so i’m still using some bitmaps from there.

Also, there are many sites with free screentones for download, even only some of them are good for  printing comics, there are enough good for online ones ^^ I don’t remember now all the sites with screentons, but it just need to type ‘screentones download’ or something like that on google, and ta~damm 😄

 

So yeah, If you’re making comic too, i wish you all the best with it, and some important things like, lots of patience (!), no rush, and determination ❤

 

-Take care

20 Responses to “Traditional comic – how i do it”

  1. Hakashi Says:

    Jejuuu wystarczy skanować w czerni i bieli i nagle skany o niebo lepiej wyglądają! @___@ Jesteś geniuszem, Meago!

    • meago Says:

      lolol nie ja tylko ten co to wymyslil XDD
      ja sama pare lat temu o tym nie wiedzialam 😄

      • marcianek Says:

        lol, a ja nigdy do tego B&W nie mogę się przekonać, zawsze zżera mi najdrobniejsze linie, albo zlewa dwie leżące blisko siebie 😄 Wolę bawić się potem levelsami i kontrastem. xP Efekt jeśli chodzi o czerń ten sam, chyba 😄 Ale z tego co widzę tylko ja mam problem z tym xDD

        • meago Says:

          aw mi nigdy nie zżera XD;
          u mnie to wyglada tak – http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/8723/page10l.jpg
          moze sprobuj w wiekszej rozdzielczosci O:?

          • marcianek Says:

            Nie, nie, wiesz co, to chyba po prostu o to, że za wiele bym chciała- bardzo patrzę na mikroskopijne detale i o tu przykład http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/5093/oko.png (po lewej skanowane w grayscale, na razie bez poprawki, a po prawej bitmapa) przeszkadza mi to, że w bitmapie zlała się częściowo krateczka na źrenicy i górnej części siatkówki, i mam świadomość, że jest to w sumie taki detal, na który nikt poza mną nie zwróci uwagi, a raczej sporo osób powie, że wydziwiam 😄 Zwiększenie rozdzielczości też znowu wiele nie daje, ale zauważyłam, że sporo zależy od papieru, ten z oczkiem był pozornie bez tekstury, a takie jak twój dają o wiele gładszą linię i skanerowi jest lepiej wyłapać, przynajmniej tak mi się wydaje- no i można pobawić się progami, lekko zmniejszyć domyślną wartość z 110 na 108 np…

            W każdym razie wszystko rozchodzi się nie o ogół rysunku a o jakieś milimetrowe niuanse, więc potraktuj to jako marudzenie pedanta 😄 niemniej dzięki za odpowiedź :*

  2. Fyamika Says:

    Oh, miło troche się dowiedzieć o technicznej stronie twojego komiksu. A tak właśnie się zastanawiałam, jak zrobić, żeby zeskanowany tusz nie wyglądał tak okropnie…teraz juz wiem. <D
    Natomiast myśle czy nie poszukać na necie tego papieru, co używasz, bo ja stosuje blok techniczny cansona, taki niebieski, ale to chyba nie jest to, albo ja jestem jakaś dziwna, i mi się raz rysuje dobrze, a raz kreski postawić nie mogę. XP No, nieważne….Dzięki z te porady.

    *patrzy na kadry komiksu* LLAMYYYYY! XDDD Sorka, przyzwyczajenie…

    • meago Says:

      No ten papier dosyc drogi jest i mozna go zdobyc z zagranicznych sklepow, (chociaz byl jakistam sklep netowy polski co mial deletera ale byl inny troche) wiem ze na polskie za taka paczke 40 kartek bedzie jakies 80zl (jak ostatnio liczylam) wiec no nie jest to tania sprawa D: Mi Goku zalatwila kilka ryz jak byla na expo i mam maly zapas, jak mi sie skonczy to sie dopiero zastanowie czy kupic wiecej xD

      Cansona tez mam, jest bardzo podobny, tylko ze sztywniejszy (i mam mniej kartek). I nie pamietam czy roznily sie texturą (nie chce mi sie go szukac teraz 😄 ).
      Co do kresek to ja mam taki problem ze kompletnie nie mam miejsca, i jak chce rysowac komiks w tradyszonalu, to wychodzi mega krzywo, bo nawet nie mam miejsca na lokcie a co dopiero je gdzies oprzec 😄 wiec nie zrobie zadnego komiksu, dopoki nie kupie nowego biurka 😄

      • Fyamika Says:

        Aż 80? Cholera jasna…Ale w sumie jak tak patrze, to zawsze dla Polski wysyłki zagraniczne są cholernie drogie, chciałam zamawać z Francji pewne komiksy…tragenia…ale od Niemiec jeszcze gorzej, a jesteśmy najbliżej. XP

        Ja mam problem że rysuje jakiś czas dobrze…a potem mi się urywa, nie chce dalej pisać, mimo, że maczam w tuszu, bazgram, maczam, bazgram…i kończy się tym, że robie kleksa. 😄 A na pewno to nie zużyta stalówka, bo nowe robią mi dokładnie to samo XDDD Paranoja…

  3. Jocelijn Says:

    Hello
    I have a question. I am making a comic but I have dificulty toning can you give me some advise?
    I would really like to learn from you.

    I hope for an answer

    • meago Says:

      Tell me what is the problem exactly, where you have the dificulties? D:

      • Jocelijn Says:

        Hello
        sorry for the late reply but I almost broke my wrist and could not do a thing.

        but my question remains and now I can finaly ask it:
        I want to shade with tones but I do not have the aplication you have for small parts on the fase and things like that. maby you now a other way to do that. because I really like the toning texture for shading you use for the Reids comic.

        and again sorry that I didn’t reply.

  4. Remedy Says:

    super pomocne to 🙂 a ja jeszcze chcialabym zapytac jak wyglada dobrze przygotowana strona do druku? format, rozdzielczosc?
    Pozdrawiam 🙂

    • meago Says:

      wszystko jest napisane 😄
      ja rysuje na od A4 do B4. Skanuje od 1200dpi do 600dpi, pozniej pomniejszam jeszcze do 300.
      rozmiar, to zalezy w jakim formacie sie chce wydrukowac i zalezy tez od preferencji drukarni, niektore chca w 600dpi, niektorym wystarczy 300 😛

  5. Justyna Says:

    O, sama posiadam Uni-pins, jestem z nich całkiem zadowolona 😀 ale tutaj moje pytanie, co do tych Sakura micron – ściągałaś je zza granicy czy w jakimś Twoim genialnym papierniczym są dostępne? 😡

    • meago Says:

      szczerze mowiac to nie pamietam juz w ktorym sklepie kupilam sakura mikrony XD; ale wlasnie w ktoryms z plastycznych w wawie (w centrum mam ok 6-7 takich sklepow, z czego glownie zaopatruje sie w 3 znich). W empiku tez raz widzialam kiedys, ale to chyba byl jakis pojedynczy przypadek. Przez neta tez mozna kupic, nie znam strony ale jak sie wpisze w gugle sakura micron i sie zfiltruje do polskich wynikow to powinno cos byc C:

  6. raihanah Says:

    meago, can i ask the names of the mangas you post ?
    i can only identified nana and pita ten .. but i would like the name of the middle manga.. tqvm ~


Leave a Reply

